Citadel's Saylor Named a Prof. of the Year

Psychology professor Dr. Conway F. Saylor of The Citadel was named as one of two recipients of the 2012 Governor's Professor of the Year Awards handed out Thursday

Gov. Nikki Haley and the Commission on Higher Education named two recipients for the Governor's Professor of the Year Award Thrusday including one from the Charleston area.

The Citadel's Dr. Conway F. Saylor received the honor at an award ceremony in Columbia Thursday.

The award was created by the S.C. General Assembly in 1988. Each year every college in the state - public and private and both four-year and two-year programs - nominate one faculty member for the awards, and a selection committee then whittles down the list and chooses the winners.

The recipients must be "excellent in the classroom, excellent in terms of research and writing, excellent in community and student involvement, and to say that these individuals are the cream of the crop and are highly deserving of this honor is a gross understatement," CHE Chairman Ken Wingate said during a press conference announcing the awards.

Dr. Hendrikus E. van Bulck, from the University of South Carolina Sumter was also named a reciepient of the award.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »